There are plenty of security engineers working at Facebook to ensure that its users are being protected and the company is also partnering with Kaspersky Lab to fight against malicious software. Thus, from now on, if it detects that an account is behaving suspiciously and appears to be infected, Facebook will recommend a free anti-malware scan, a technology provided by the Russian security company.

Facebook is also a major target for phishers, with Kaspersky saying that 1 in 5 phishing scams target Facebook notifications. Trevor Pottinger, a Facebook security engineer, said the following: I know I’m not the only one who sees many security threats on Facebook, so this is a much welcomed step from the company. I can tell you from my own experience that being infected with malware is no fun, so I also advise you to be equipped with a anti-malware utility, as well.